lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 10-17-2012, 09:11 PM   #1
wackman69
Not Yet Wild
E-Z-GO

Default A bunch of total Newb Questions..

So, as of today I am a proud new golf cart owner. I rescued this cart from a field behind some dudes house. Def a fixer upper and a long winter's project.

Anyhow on with the questions. First of all, I searched my serial number on ezgo's website to find out what year cart I have. It told me that I had a 93 with a 4 cycle engine. Well, it was wrong about one part right away. The cart I have has a 2 cycle engine. This brings me to question:

#1 How do I tell what series of engine I have? 1pg? 2pg? 3pg? robin? The more research I do, the more confused I am...
#2 I took it to a guy that works on carts quite regularly and he said it was a mid 70s cart. How can ezgo website and this guy be so far off. I do have to agree with him to an extent. It does look much older than a 93. I really need to pin this down so I know what belt to order because the one on it is from a snowmobile and does not quite engage properly.
#3 What is the name of the contact switch that goes behind the rod attached to the gas pedal that is mounted inside the engine compartment, which tells the cart to fire when the pedal is depressed.
#4 What would cause the cart to fire and operate fine in forward but when reverse is selected the engine will barely make a revolution and not even come close to firing. (Is it possible for the internal starter/generator to function normally one direction but fail in another?)

I hope I posed these questions correctly. Please don't flame me too bad. I don't spend a lot of time on forums and do not always no all the do's and don'ts. Thanks in advance for any help that can be offered.
wackman69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW