lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 04-10-2014, 10:53 PM   #1
TexasHunter
Not Yet Wild

Default 1989 Marathon 2PG Engine Rebuild- In over my head - Please help

Hello Guys,

I bought a 1989 Gas Marathon that was running great at the time. I purchased a 4 in lift and bigger tires and was successful with the instal. After running it for about 4 months, I started to notice an occasional backfire in the engine that happened infrequently. Next thing I know, the engine wont start.

I researched through the wealth of knowledge and information here in BGW and decided I would tackle an full engine overhaul even though I am a novice mechanic with very little experience. I figure if it is not working then I don't have much to lose so I would learn by doing and tackle the project.

So far I have been able to:
  • Pull the engine
  • Remove the drive clutch
  • Clean it up thoroughly
  • Remove the cylinder

I need to ask for coaching on the next steps to remove the flywheel and be able to crack open the crank case.

Attached are a few pictures of the engine in it's current state:

I noticed when I was doing the tear down that the crank shaft has a small vibration in it and that I can feel air come out of the clutch side seal when I manually spin the crank.

Here are my specific questions:
  • What is the proper sequence to remove the components and crack open the crank case?
  • How do I remove the flywheel?
  • Should I bring the new crank shaft to a machine shop to have the bearings set? Any tips here?
  • Do I need to make any marks to act as a guide for reassembly to make sure the timing will be correct?
  • Any general tips regarding a lower end rebuild process that I have not asked to correct questions?