lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 06-10-2019, 09:57 AM   #1
Bobothewizard
Not Yet Wild
Yamaha

Default 2007 Yamaha G29 Gas, clutch and lift questions.

Let me start by saying this whole golf cart lifestyle is brand new to me. Wife and I have been camping for the last 3 - 4 years and we had cart envy i.e. everyone else had one and we didnt. So we went out and bought a Yamaha 2007 G29 gas. Looks like not much has been done to it besides adding lights and a rear seat which is fine because I wanted to do the work myself but I am not very mechanical savvy. I have redone carbs on small boat engines and such but never much more than that.

Anyway, brought the cart home on Sunday and the wife and I were playing around with it in the yard and noticed that when slightly pushing the gas pedal down the engine starts and runs fine but it jerks a good bit when it starts going forward. Almost like revving up the engine and then it kind of kicks in and goes forward. Type of thing where you would hold the brakes of your car down while stepping on the gas then letting the brakes go. After reading a few posts and watching some videos on youtube, which is great by the way for detailed instructions. I am assuming it could be a worn out clutch. Looking at plowmans site he has a retro clutch kit that appears fairly easy to install. Would you recommend this type of clutch kit or should I be looking at a different problem with it?