lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 12-28-2009, 12:15 PM   #1
roachmt
Not Yet Wild
Yamaha

Default G16 Smoking

I am new to the forrum, I have a 96 G16 that I have not used in about 2 months, I went out to play golf today and it fired right up and off I went to the clubhouse. It takes about 45 seconds to get to the clubhouse. After I checked in I went to go to the driving range and the cart started smoking and spraying oil out of the muffler!

Has anyone ever seen this before? Do I need to complete a valve job and how hard is that? It still has great compresion and has plenty of power.

Thanks,

Marcus
roachmt is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 12-28-2009, 01:06 PM   #2
sabercat
gone yamaha!

Yamaha

Default Re: G16 Smoking

you can check and re adjust your valves set at 0.004'' also could be the rings, oil blow by? or a crank seal gone somwere to spray oil out? dave/crash/sprid any ideas? i would check your compression to see if theres rings left.
sabercat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 05:51 PM   #3
smallblock450sl
Sometime's............

Yamaha

Quote:
Originally Posted by roachmt View Post
I am new to the forrum, I have a 96 G16 that I have not used in about 2 months, I went out to play golf today and it fired right up and off I went to the clubhouse. It takes about 45 seconds to get to the clubhouse. After I checked in I went to go to the driving range and the cart started smoking and spraying oil out of the muffler!

Has anyone ever seen this before? Do I need to complete a valve job and how hard is that? It still has great compresion and has plenty of power.

Thanks,

Marcus