lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 03-02-2011, 10:29 PM   #1
sodamo
Not Yet Wild

Default 97 Gas TXT doesn't start (Long)

I just bought a 1997 gasser as mentioned in previous thread Here.

Have it home now and need some help. Been searching prior threads and downloaded from the Tech section, but being a newbie I'm still just finding my way, so if I can get some gentle assistance, it would be most appreciated. PLEASE, excuse if my terminology is a bit off as I learn.

This cart was supposedly running about 6 months ago, but has been sitting as the owner passed away. The guy I bought from and knows it best is on a different island and was not present when I bought it. His sister was and I believe she was sincere in not really knowing much LOL

Near as I can tell, except for lift and tires, everything else is stock.

Manuals: From looking, it appears the 1997-98 carts have their own manual, does anyone know why? Is there a reasonable approach to using the newer manuals and adjust for a 97 model? I'd like to have a good reference set. Any suggestions other than what's at Tech appreciated.

Electrical diagram: Not sure I've found an appropriate one yet. Can someone point me to one? My cart does have some disconnected wires, some I "think" I figured out, but not all. In particular, the wires from the accelerator pedal micro switch are not only disconnected, but maybe be broken off (and removed) as I can't find the connection points in the engine compartment. So when I turn the key switch to ON, the engine "runs" via the starter, but doesn't start. Might it be possible that this allows the engine to run/idle full time? If so, any negative consequences?

As I've said, engine does NOT start. Here's what I've checked: