lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 06-09-2014, 11:47 AM   #1
catch2237
Not Yet Wild

Default New to Carts - got a 1992 and need advice

My wife and I received a 1992 Club Car DS 36v golf cart when her grandfather passed. I am new to the golf cart world and this website has helped me alot so far. I was able to locate the serial number and determine it was a '92 and that is was 36v. (i was told it was a '98 and that it was a 48v but Im not complaining because it was free)

Overall, the cart is in good shape for its age. Body is fine, roof, seat, and windshield are in great shape and the brakes seem strong. Batteries (crown) I think are about 1 yr old and it has a brand new charger. Its a stock cart that has no upgrades that I know of.

When I heard that we were getting the cart, I had great thoughts of putting a 4-5 inch lift on it and dressing it up with some knobby tires and putting a camo wrap on it.

I have a few main questions.
1. Is a cart that age worth putting $$ into it (lift, tires, wrap etc)
2. What are the other major items that I need to look at before putting money into it?
3. I wanted to put a rear flip seat on it, but I dont think its strong enough for 4 adults?

thanks in advance for any advice. I have always had atvs and this is a new venture to me.
catch2237 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 06-09-2014, 12:42 PM   #2
sjfishon
Gone Wild

E-Z-GO

Default Re: New to Carts - got a 1992 and need advice

I have a 97, the year really doesn't matter, if its taken care of, carts are built tough,, if you have new bats, and charger, and the cart acts like new,, then it is;;;;;;;;;;;; good luck , oh yea don't think you will ever be done playing with it, that don't happen till the day you sell it''''''''''