lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 05-15-2012, 03:53 PM   #1
rrfarm
Not Yet Wild

Default G16A will not start without the choke

Hello i am new to golf carts and this forum so any advice will be appreciated. I have purchased a 98 g16a that does not want to take off when you mash the gas pedal unless you pull the choke cold or hot doesnt seem to matter. When you do get it going if you mash the gas all the way down it bogs down but if you pull the choke it takes off good. It has a new spark plug and good spark i have pulled the fuel line to check for flow and it pulses when you mash the gas so i dont think its the fuel pump. The carb doesnt seem to have the usual adjustments screws except for looks like an idle screw. Advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
rrfarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 05-15-2012, 11:01 PM   #2
junior1954
Not Yet Wild
Yamaha

Default Re: G16A will not start without the choke

Hi. Your cart is running too lean-choking it richness it up so it runs like it should. Look for a vacuum leak, like the carb. being loose or a bad carb. to manifold gasket. There's an idle mixture screw as well as an idle speed screw on the carb., but if the cart runs bad at low and high speeds, these screws aren't causing the problem (not saying they don't need adjustment too). Make sure the gas is good and fresh and the fuel filter clean. Good luck and welcome!

Jim
junior1954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 11:13 PM   #3
rrfarm
Not Yet Wild