lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 04-12-2014, 11:13 PM   #1
tylerolso
Not Yet Wild

Default Forward is not that fast

I just bought my first golf cart and when i test drove it the guys said the battery were just low and thats why is was going slow. Well after charging it its still goes slow. In reverse it hauls butt, but when i try to go forward its slow. I put a volt meter on everything and each battery showed 6.31 to 6.36 and all together they should 38.1. I am new to these so any help would be great.

Also the cart is a Ez-go Marathon year 1992
tylerolso is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 04-13-2014, 12:16 AM   #2
radioman
Gone Wild
E-Z-GO

Default Re: Forward is not that fast

Some preliminary things to get started diagnosing problem would be to measure the battery bank voltage while going forward and reverse. Check for hot connection around the forward reverse switch. How slow is slow?
radioman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 02:58 AM   #3
JohnnieB
Techno-Nerd

E-Z-GO

Your cart has a half speed reverse, so the high current cables to the motor's stator winding or the armature might be connected backwards.

Does the beeper sound when cart moves backwards?

Here is a schematic for the cart.

Also, the battery pack voltage is a little low, or it might be a lot low. Here is a chart.

The voltages given on the chart are taken about 12 hours after the charger shuts off automatically. If the are taken much sooner, they will be artificially high due to the surface charge they acquire while charging.

What charger do you have?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Marathon - Controller Schematic.JPG (143.7 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg SoC vs Voltage - Trojan Battery.JPG (56.9 KB, 0 views)