lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 06-02-2015, 04:14 PM   #1
whitetaco02
Not Yet Wild

Default Another Differential Question

Okay, I am a newbie here and have a question. I have a Beast48 buggy and have noticed that I am getting a few drips on the concrete from the rear differential.

I just found the model and it says TXTPDS with a year of F0308 so I am assuming it is an EZ GO cart made in 08, correct?

I saw where most people dropped the rear diff pan, cleaned up the housing, used RTV blue gasket goop, added 10 ounces of SAE30 oil, jacked up both front and back to even it out and then bolted the rear diff housing back torqueing the bolts between 18-25 ft/lbs. As well as letting it sit and cure for 24 hours before driving it again.

Is that pretty much it?

I don't do stuff like this normally but it looks pretty easy.

Reason I ask is I have read some threads where some people used gear oil and I don't want to mess anything up. I have smelled the oil dripping from my diff and it smells nothing like gear oil but wanted to be sure.

Any preferences on the type/brand of oil.

Thanks again and awesome forum ya'll have here!
whitetaco02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 06-02-2015, 06:39 PM   #2
usgicollector
Gone Wild
E-Z-GO

Default Re: Another Differential Question

I don't use SAE30 oil. I use Valvoline Full Synthetic Gear Oil 75w90. I also use RTV made for gear oil.
usgicollector is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2015, 06:45 AM   #3
whitetaco02
Not Yet Wild

That's my dilemma. I am hearing too many mixed opinions on what oil to use back there.
Old 06-03-2015, 09:05 AM   #4
Dave Box
Respect the Cart

E-Z-GO

There are two areas of confusion with regards to differential oil.