lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Club Car
Gas Club Car Gas DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 09-05-2009, 11:35 AM   #1
kimmer71
Getting Wild

Club Car

Question Generator Starter - CW/CCW change?

Good day all! Newbie here.

I have 2 carts that I am working on. Both have FE290D engines. Apparently one engine rotates CW and the other CCW. The starter/Gen went bad on the CW model. I have a good CCW unit. Can the rotation of the starter/gen be changed/reversed?

I have been told that the bad unit may just need new brushes. I've compared the 2 on a bench with a multimeter and found the start circuit is open to ground on the bad unit but the good unit has continuity in this circuit. Any other tests I should perform on the bad unit?

Thanks in advance. Great forum!
kimmer71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 09-06-2009, 09:44 AM   #2
kimmer71
Getting Wild

Club Car

Default Re: Generator Starter - CW/CCW change?

I pulled the brushes from the problem generator and found that they were shot. I ordered replacements from Buggies Unlimited at $22 for a set.
Old 09-08-2009, 06:21 PM   #3
crash12888
Gone Crazy

Our site sponsors thank you very much for sharing that and wish you the best of luck..................
crash12888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 07:01 PM   #4
kimmer71
Getting Wild

Club Car

Seriously? I checked the site sponsors and BU wasn't one of them. I'm new to the forum and its difficult to guage thru text but your post almost seems sarcastic. Have I stepped over some line by mentioning the company or the price I paid for them? That's one of the benefits of a forum...free information.
Old 09-08-2009, 08:02 PM   #5
crash12888
Gone Crazy

Yes, I was being sarcastic, We have had so many people buy the "stuff" from them and come here and ask for help with it.