lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 08-15-2015, 02:49 PM   #1
ceh1467
Not Yet Wild

Default 1986 G3 Charging issue...please help diagnose

My grandfather brought me his 1986 g3 sun classic gas cart to see if I could fix it. he also brought me a spare starter/generator that he was told was a good working generator. I am not good with electrical issues but told him I would try to figure it out. I have checked all fuses and all are good. the cart has a new voltage regulator on it. after swapping the starter/generator out it is still not charging the battery. I put a multimeter on the voltage regulator while running and read 1.5 volts output and 9 volts input at the terminals. both starter/generators read continuity from f1 to f2 and a1 to a2. does anyone know of some tests that I can do to narrow down the issue? there is a local guy who rebuilds and repairs starters and alternators for vehicles that rebuilt my starter for my Durango a few years ago. im hoping that if something is wrong with these starter/generators that he could fix it. I don't know what the two relays are for that the a1 and a2 are running to but I believe they are forward and reverse relays? thanks for any help you guys can offer and in the meantime I am going to remove all the body grounds and clean them up and make sure they are all good.
ceh1467 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 08-15-2015, 07:50 PM   #2
smallblock450sl
Sometime's............

Yamaha

Default Re: 1986 G3 Charging issue...please help diagnose