lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 02-11-2018, 06:24 PM   #1
D-rock
Not Yet Wild
Yamaha

Default Yamaha G1 information

I am brand new to golf carts. I just bought a 1979 Yamaha G1 Gas. I need to lift this cart a bit. As is it doesnt have enough ground clearance . I think 4 inches would do it. Any ideas or advice?
D-rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 02-11-2018, 09:03 PM   #2
Spicyunicorn
Gone Wild
Yamaha

Default Re: Yamaha G1 information

Just and fyi the the way these are set up with the engine on a "swing arm" when you lift them you don't gain ground clearance bigger tires is where you gain the ground clearance
Spicyunicorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2018, 10:34 PM   #3
D-rock
Not Yet Wild
Yamaha

Right. But I need to lift it to fit bigger tires. The lifts I am seeing are for 82 and up. I need a lift for 79. Jakes lifts list an 82 and up G1. I'm thinking they must be somehow different.
Old 02-21-2018, 09:48 AM   #4
yamahag1cart
Gone Wild
Yamaha

Good luck DROCK!

I have a 1979 G1 as well and noticed that about several parts only being for 1980+ models. Not sure how much things changed but I have seen people fab their own lift kits for these carts - I think there are even free plans with technical drawings on the site somewhere! Not too complicated if you have a knack for backyard engineering and the right tools!
yamahag1cart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2018, 10:26 AM   #5
BrutalSoldier
Addictive Personality

Club Car

I believe I read on BGW somewhere when I was building my G1 that the early G1's are basically the same as 1980's G1. If I am remembering correctly there was a few subtle differences but nothing major.
BrutalSoldier is offline   Reply With Quote