lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Club Car
Gas Club Car Gas DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 02-02-2010, 10:58 AM   #1
natelukow
Not Yet Wild

Default Golf Carts, where to start?

While in sociology today my mind started to wander and for some reason I decided I wanted a fast gold cart. I decided to come check out golf carts online, but I had no idea this was so common, and there was so much aftermarket support. I've done a little looking around and I've gathered that the most popular make is EZGO (correct me if I'm wrong). My question for all you golf car veterans is where the hell do I start? what do I need? Any useful info would be appreciated. I have no idea what motors are easy swaps or what kind of motors make good power. Ideally I'd like to use a Honda motor but I'm not that set on it. I've been building Hondas (cars) for a few years now and love it. I'm no stranger to engine swaps, but the ones I do have aftermarket mounts available. I've rebuilt several 4 stroke Honda engines, and done a lot of work with brake conversions, suspension tuning, and all the other usual Honda stuff. I'm currently building a JDM B18c, hoping to make 230whp N/A for autox and road racing. Many of you may consider me a ricer but I do NOT have a stupid body kit, I do NOT have underglow, I do NOT try to race everything that moves, and I do NOT consider imports superior to domestics because they were in Fast and the Furious. I do however, hate ricers as much as the rest of you. Anyways I'm not very familiar with 2 stroke engines or carburetors, I'm there not complicated I've just never had the interest. Also, are the swaps pretty straight forward or is fabrication required? How much wiring is required? Does anybody make mounts?. I'd also like a cart/motor that use metric hardware, being a Honda guy I don't even own any standard sockets/ wrenches. Kee