lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 09-01-2008, 03:01 PM   #1
Danali
Not Yet Wild

Default 1991 EZGo Marathon Electric Just Quit

***I put this originally under the wrong section. So sorry. I moved it to here after realizing the mistake****

I am a newbie, which by definition means I have a problem. I have a 1991 E-Z Go Marathon electric cart. We use it to run over our property servicing our rental houses. It is an essential piece of equipment, and I really need to get this baby running again.

Here is what happened. On an intermittent basis, just very recently, the cart simply stopped running in forward. Each time, I would put the cart in reverse, it responded immediately, I then put it back in forward and it would take off right away and run for quite some time. This cycle was repeated successfully and continued for a few days, then finally reverse refused to work also and cylcing from F to R did nothing anymore. One other key sympton is that the solenoid quit clicking when the accelerator was pressed. Batteries were fairly new and tested a strong (total) of 36 volts.

Here is what I have done (in each test of ohms I isolated the device):

1. I isolated the solenoid and checked for both performance and continuity. I applied 36 volts to the small terminals and then read ohms across the large posts. Each time I applied the 36 volts, it clicked and the solenoid closed showing 0 ohms and then showed open when the 36 volts was removed. So the solenoid seems fine.

2. I put the ohm meter on the Pot Box and the ohm meter moves like it should while moving the gas pedal, so it seems fine.

3. I tested the micro switch on top of the pot box and it closes and opens or makes and breaks like it should going from 0 ohms to open.