lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Modified Golf Carts > Big Block Talk! > Clone Engine Swaps

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 12-17-2020, 08:42 PM   #1
CCGC2004
Not Yet Wild

Default Need help with Predator 420cc conversion in 2002 EzGO TXT

Hello all...I am new to golf cart mods, but generally mechanically inclined and need help from your knowledge and experience on this topic! I bought a 2002 ezgo cart that was converted from electric to gas using a GY6 engine (with it's internal FNR gearing) driving the cart's original Dana Spicer transaxle via a jackshaft. It was good for me and my son but after putting on a rear folding seat I found that no matter what I did, the set up would not get the cart moving with all four family members (combined weight approx 500lbs). So here is my plan...HF predator 420cc (picked up with recent 20%off coupon) with a 40 series torque converter and hopefully a FNR gearbox. All of my video watching and forum reading tells me this will do the job, but I need some advice to get me going. Does anyone know where can I find an engine cradle that will properly attach to my Dana transaxle? It looks like the ones from Vegas Carts might not fit due to my cart being an electric conversion...pumkin offset too far to the passenger side. Could the VC (or other manufacturer) cradle be a good starting point requiring a slight mod? Also, does anyone make a FNR gearbox compatible with the 40 series converter? I see many for the TAV2 30 series. I have seen one video of a guy using one with a 40 series on a 420cc and he indicated that it was working well "so far". Can't find a follow-up though. My thought is maybe to give it a try since I'm not going to be racing the thing or doing crazy offroading...just need a reliable neighborhood cruiser. Thanks in advance for any assistance... eager to get this baby rolling again!!

Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays, and Hopes for a COVID- Free 2021!!