lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 02-27-2014, 06:06 AM   #1
Hole-in-one
Not Yet Wild

Default EZGO PDS limp mode

I wonder if anyone on the forum can help me understand limp mode in an EZGO TXT PDS 36v golf car. By limp (safe) mode, I mean where the golf car's maximum speed and power are drastically reduced, typically to around 6 km/hr.

On my golf car, this is a sporadic thing that sometimes happens, sometimes not. The batteries are in good condition, measuring 89% on the discharge test. Other than limp mode, nothing else is an issue, and there is no history of problems.

As an electrical engineer, I'm hoping to get some insight into this problem and what causes it.
Hole-in-one is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 02-27-2014, 11:24 AM   #2
JohnnieB
Techno-Nerd

E-Z-GO

Default Re: EZGO PDS limp mode

Welcome to BGW!

The label on the controller cover list four conditions (Error Codes) that will cause the cart to run slowly. It might be one of those.

Put the controller in diagnostic mode (Text at bottom of attached label tells how to do it) and listen for any error codes (Beep sequences).

What is the pack voltage when the cart is misbehaving?

Also, what is the ambient temperature? It is summer in the southern hemisphere, so heat may be an issue.

------
I'm a retired Clinical Engineer and have the PDS controller fairly well figured out, so I can probably answer most of your specific questions about how they work.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg PDS Label on Controller Cover.JPG (142.9 KB, 0 views)
JohnnieB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 12:15 PM   #3
Hole-in-one
Not Yet Wild

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnieB View Post
Welcome to BGW!

What is the pack voltage when the cart is misbehaving?