lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 01-08-2012, 03:24 PM   #1
jmste755
Not Yet Wild

Default G1 Engine Bay, What's What?

Hi all. Just getting started with our 89 G1 (J31). Had some trouble with it yesterday not turning over & found the 'sticky' on here extremely helpful. I'm very new to the cart & to engines in general. Any chance someone can point me to a diagram of what's what in the engine bay? Pics with arrows to stuff as elementary as the muffler, gas tank, ect. I'm interested in the solenoids, ect. on the passenger side rear wheel also. If this is possible, that'd be most helpful & possibly others, who are too embarrassed to ask, might find use for it too.

Thanks.
jmste755 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 01-08-2012, 07:00 PM   #2
Field6565
Gone Wild

Default Re: G1 Engine Bay, What's What?

Go to www.yamahagolfcar.com and download the owners manual. Lots of good info there. That should be a good place to start.
Field6565 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 05:26 PM   #3
sho305
Vegas modded 420

Yamaha

Solenoids are for forward and reverse, it runs the gen/starter either way and picks the ignition pickup to use for either direction. If it stops working one way but works the other way then you know it is one of them.

Air filter is center about between rear shocks, air goes to carb then into engine, out engine into large muffler tube by floor. Clutches are primary on engine and secondary on trans, with large belt drive. That should cover most of it, the important parts anyway.
sho305 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 07:25 PM   #4
slonomo
Searching for The Way

Yamaha