lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Club Car
Gas Club Car Gas DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 04-22-2009, 08:53 AM   #1
Cessna75
Getting Wild

Club Car

Default Driven Clutch - so THATS what that is!

Ok, so i'm a little new to the golf cart thing and i'm jumping in with both feet. I'm overhauling/upgrading an 87 Club Car and at this point I've used more dollars the sense.

I did purchase the 16hp powermax clone, 780 clutch, and 89-91 ez-go drive belt that I've heard others using. I haven't mounted the engine yet because I had the whole rearend out to clean it up, repaint it, and while it was apart I decided to add the Jakes 6" spindle lift kit.

Last night I decided to hold up the new drive belt to the (stay with me here and refer to my opening sentence) "big pulley" on the transaxel. Well, the new wide belt wasn't even close to fitting down inside the space between the two walls of the "pulley". I did a little digging around and found out thats actually a driven clutch, but i'm still trying to learn why there's two clutches. (any input greatly appreciated).

My big question is, can the driven clutch be set up to accept this wider belt, should I buy the new comet replacement driven clutch from CPP (what diameter belt will it accept?) and how do i tell if this driven clutch is good with no motor present yet?

Thanks!
Cessna75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 04-22-2009, 09:11 AM   #2
scottyb
Happy Carting

E-Z-GO

Default Re: Driven Clutch - so THATS what that is!