lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Modified Golf Carts > Design Center
Design Center Shop tools, fabrication and Paint and Body

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 08-21-2008, 01:41 PM   #1
kelleyb
Not Yet Wild

Default Metal Transfer Cart from Buggie Parts

Hello All,

I am a Mechanical Engineer with West Salem Machinery here in beautiful (but currently raining) Oregon. I have been tasked with reproducing a transfer cart that one of our affiliates uses to move 20' to 24' steel pieces in their warehouse (it saves on the wear and tear of the overhead crane). It was peiced together using what appear to be Club Car parts, although the drive gearbox is a complete unknown.

We are going to build at least one to several of these for the other warehouses. I am fairly confident in the mechanical design (although I have some questions if I can use an h-12 axle for the gear reducer, but I will play that one by ear)!

However, I do have some questions on the electical, although I am beginning to understand a lot more from the posted schematics. I will try to post a pdf of my design schematic sometime tomorrow once I clean it up so you guys can pick it apart.

My current question is what is the ball park amperage draw of the 2 horse GE D294 motor using 36 volts? The run from batteries to the control levers is about 12', and the return to the motor is about the same, and I want to properly size the wires.

Also, where do you locate fuses and what size should they be? Having troubles deciphering that from the schematic posts.

Thanks for your help and I hope you find this an interesting build! I'll try to post pics soon :) Take care!
kelleyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 08-21-2008, 07:12 PM   #2
scottyb
Happy Carting

E-Z-GO

Default Re: Metal Transfer Cart from Buggie Parts