lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Club Car
Gas Club Car Gas DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 04-07-2018, 01:33 PM   #1
Fourthewin
Not Yet Wild

Default '99 Club Car DS Engine Swap

Hello Everyone,

I'm new to the golf card industry. I was given a 1999 Club Car DS with a sickly FE290.

I've been reading and researching for a few weeks now in my spare time but I'm as confused as ever!

This cart will be used as a utility cart. I want to increase the top in speed to 12-15mph and certainly increase the power.

I know I want to replace the weakish FE290 but I have NO idea what to choose! I like the "press, start and go" of the stock motors so I don't think I want to do a big block stock.

Would you all recommend upgrading to an FE400? That seems like the most simple. But I'm confused by some saying there are models with a counter clockwise rotating shafter or clockwise....jackshafts.....aggg...my head is exploding!

Would some of you be willing to point me in the right direction that has some experience on a 99?

Thanks so much for all of your help and time!
Fourthewin is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 04-07-2018, 02:18 PM   #2
meimk
Gone Wild

Club Car

Default Re: '99 Club Car DS Engine Swap

Your '99 would be a clockwise rotation originally. Almost all "replacement" engines out there are counter-clockwise. If you go with a Club Car specific FE400 you're all set. I know of someone who got a fantastic price on a EZGO version of that engine, but ate up most of the price difference in the drive clutch to make it work. AND still had the backwards gearing issue you've probably already seen mentioned in other threads.
meimk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2018, 05:48 PM   #3
BearsFan315
Gone Wild

Yamaha

so you want to GO 12-15 faster than it goes NOW or want it to go 12-15 mph