lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 06-03-2014, 09:39 AM   #1
SDodson
Not Yet Wild

Default wire from solenoid to the fnr switch keeps burning up

I recently bought a 87 ezgo 2cycle gas golf cart. I am a newbie in the golf cart world. I began having problems about 2 weeks after buying it. I would push in on the gas and after I took my foot off, it would continue to run like the limit switch was messed up ( cleaned it with connection cleaner ), and then it might not start for 3 or 4 minutes. I tapped on the solenoid and it started running. This continued for a week. Battery began to grow weak. I changed the solenoid and when I tried to start it, the wire from my small solenoid leg ( on the right side that goes up to the f-n-r switch and then to ground ) burnt up. I thought I may have wired something up wrong, but checked wiring diagram and my pic I took of the old one hooked up and it is kosher. This thing is really making me scratch my head. I'm checking with a local dealer on the limit switch and seeing if my battery is going to take a charge ( it completely drained it ). Do any of you ezgo gurus have any pointers?
SDodson is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 06-03-2014, 12:18 PM   #2
jeffrun
Gone Wild

Default Re: wire from solenoid to the fnr switch keeps burning up

What you probably done is purchased a auto style start solenoid. They have a extra small terminal for bypassing resistor on the ignition coil of autos. So connecting the black wire to it is like a short to ground, that will fry the wire.

What you need is a continuous duty solenoid ,ezgo or equal. The extra terminal is a ground for the coil , connect black wire to it and will work fine. Like the one below.

http://www.rakuten.com/prod/new-12v-...rZCQ6_5gPw_wcB