lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 03-26-2018, 08:59 AM   #1
not-so-ezgo
Not Yet Wild

Question 96 EZGO top speed down 2-3 mph

I am not an expert, but I will likely be soon.

I have been trying to diagnose a speed problem with my 96 Medalist. This is a 36v series cart. I installed all new batteries(mine were weak). Voltage on the pack is good now.

Top speed with this motor was 13-14 mph before having problems last fall. I will list the parts replaced and when issues happened.

Cart got slow (10 mph) and started dragging a wheel and grinding. I replaced axle/hub bearings. After reassembly top speed was 8.

I assumed brakes were dragging etc. Wheels would turn freely though..

Then a local "cart place" told me the motor was finally bad. So I bought a used motor that was good(per same guy)

Installed motor and was back to 9-10 mph. In my research I found the replacement motor to be a slower series motor than I had, so I assumed this was the case. Out of frustration I actually installed the original amd fleet speed motor and had about the same speed still.

Now to current condition - New batteries, Original motor, top speed 11.34 mph gps speed. 1 person zero grade.

Is there anything left for me to test (without taking to a shop) to know what is causing the slow down? I enjoy working on things, but due to cash flow I am not wanting to throw the amount of money at this I usually do to replace parts until it all works.

I know there is something on the pedal that controls voltage, and the FR switch that could cause this. I am sure I am missing something easy here, because these don't seem that hard.

Obviously I am wrong. lol
not-so-ezgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 03-26-2018, 10:37 AM   #2
JohnnieB