lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 08-07-2014, 04:46 PM   #1
Hip79
Not Yet Wild

Default Battery break in

I went to recommended site and it said to plug in new set of batteries (in this case 6 6v crowns 205s) until complete charge is indicated. I have EZ go cube so when lite is green constantly. It goes on to say" drive to discharge batteries to 75% of pack capacity on gauge or 9 holes.. Plug in for full charge and repeat for first 10-20 re-charge cycles and by 12th cycle a difference in speed, power and run time will be noticed. It also says to never ever run battery pack below 50% of pack capacity for the entire life of battery. Not to leave in state of discharge ever and when storing charge every 2 weeks. I'm new to carts and don't golf and am go to try installing a SOC gauge when I get time but do have a DVM. The pack checked at 37 v how low should I go, before recharging and I'm not sure of statements discharge to 75% or 9 holes, but never ever go below 50% of pack capacity? I'm confused called chop and was told to keep it plugged in all the time when not used. Now I'm really confused.
Would appreciate which is right, I guess I'm more senor than I think.
Hip79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 08-07-2014, 05:51 PM   #2
JohnnieB
Techno-Nerd

E-Z-GO

Default Re: Battery break in

Attached is a chart showing the State of Charge vs At-Rest Voltage.
At-Rest voltage is measured roughly 12 hours after the charger shuts off and before cart is moved. (Cart Batteries acquire a "Surface Charge" while charging that must be allowed to deplete to get an accurate SoC estimate.)