lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 09-25-2018, 09:47 AM   #1
kfortier5
Not Yet Wild

Default Ideal AH for 8V Batteries

Hey everyone,

My parents just gave me a '99 Club Car (48v). It's been sitting for 1+ years without charge. The batteries are bulging at the bottom and there is a lot of corrosion. All batteries are reading almost 0v, so i'm pretty sure the're toast (correct me if I'm wrong).

I'm new to the golf cart world, but have been doing a lot of reading on this site and elsewhere. I read that the ideal AH for a 6v battery is about 225. But I can't find a similar recommendation for an 8v battery. At first I thought it would be the same, but similarly priced 8v typically have 160-180 AH.

So, the question is: what's ideal for an 8V? I won't be using it that often -- a couple times a week for less than 2 miles each trip. I have a Series type motor.
kfortier5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 09-25-2018, 11:45 AM   #2
Hunter450
Gone Wild

Club Car

Default Re: Ideal AH for 8V Batteries

Any 8 volt golf cart specific battery will serve you well. My first choice would be Trojan T-875's. I have 4 year old Duracell 8 volt golf cart batteries from Sams Club that have been good batteries. In your case, its more about maintenance than reserve capacity.
Hunter450 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 11:49 AM   #3
BBBHC
Gone Wild

Club Car

I would not mess around with any batteries that are bulging. They are not long for this world at best, will probably start leaking, if they are not already, not to mention possible worse outcomes. Get rid of them and get some new batteries.
BBBHC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 12:30 PM   #4
kfortier5
Not Yet Wild

Thanks to you both.