lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 07-01-2022, 05:09 PM   #1
Felipe1183
Not Yet Wild

Default 2004 CC DS IQ - Bit off more than I can chew

Recently bought a 2004 CC DS IQ. It is making a high pitched whine when accelerating. I got under the cart to check the differential oil and found the case covered in oil. I am extremely new to golf carts, but it does not look normal. Any suggestions on how to resolve this? Can the high pitch sound be associated with that massive oil leak/build up? I am assuming I am going to have to take apart the rear end.

Thanks in advance!
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg image0.jpeg (141.6 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpeg image1.jpeg (132.3 KB, 0 views)
Felipe1183 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 07-01-2022, 05:18 PM   #2
CP241
Nincompoop village idiot

Club Car

Default Re: 2004 CC DS IQ - Bit off more than I can chew

That much oil outside the case isn’t a good sign for sure.

Clean it up really well and figure out where it’s leaking from.

I’d recommend removing the motor too and keep your fingers crossed hoping the inside of the motor isn’t full if oil and grime too. These motors make lots of mess inside on their own but you can blow it out well with just air. I can’t imagine the mess if you mix it with oil
CP241 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2022, 05:30 PM   #3
Volt_Ampere
Gone Wild
Yamaha

That much leakage - the diff may be out of fluid which could make bad noises for sure.
Volt_Ampere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2022, 06:04 PM   #4
Tom47
Gone Wild

Club Car

It looks like the fluid came out of the vent plug. I wonder if someone filled it through the vent hole instead of the fill level plug hole.