lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Club Car
Gas Club Car Gas DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 01-15-2020, 10:37 AM   #1
Webbie1
Not Yet Wild

Default 1989 Gas Carryall 2 - what to look at when buying

I'm considering buying a 1989 gas carryall 2 for tooling around my 1 acre lot and using it for lawn maintenance, etc. The one I'm considering looks decent for its age, but I'm wondering if there's any "gotcha" items on it that I should be taking a close look at before buying it. I know it's got some age, so I'm not sure if parts availability is an issue - but my limited research on these things seems to indicate that parts availability isn't typically an issue. You experts can confirm or deny that. I'm a total beginner on these things, so I appreciate any and all advice, suggestions, tips, etc on this.

Thanks guys,

Warner
Webbie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 01-15-2020, 03:38 PM   #2
CP241
Nincompoop village idiot

Club Car

Default Re: 1989 Gas Carryall 2 - what to look at when buying

Personally, I would either plan on replacing the motor with a clone or a v-twin or something similar at some point down the line. That will have the older KF82 engine, which isnt hard to work on, but parts are difficult to find. You'll see guys on here that swarm to anybody parting out a KF82 just to stock up and get things while you can :) it's not a bad engine by any means, very solid and reliable. Just can be tough finding parts when they break

All depends on the price and condition of the cart though.

You might have better luck with a 1993 or newer that has the FE290 motor in it, parts.arent a problem on those. FE290's are a dime a dozen.

Just my .02
CP241 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 03:50 PM   #3
Webbie1
Not Yet Wild

Quote:
Originally Posted by CP241 View Post