lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 08-20-2013, 08:00 AM   #1
arsenalgtg
Getting Wild

Default 91 Marathon Throttle/governor questions

Please please can someone help me with how and what to adjust on my marathon to make it a bit faster.

From a standstill, it accelerates rapidly but then just sort of fizzles out to a constant. I want a bit more uuuumph!!!

Im a bit of a novice, so please go easy with me!
arsenalgtg is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 08-20-2013, 08:13 PM   #2
redcloud
Gone Wild

Default Re: 91 Marathon Throttle/governor questions

Also have 91 marathon.
First take seat off and with key off. Take foot and slowly press peddle down all the way as you watch the throttle on the carb. When you get peddle to floor move throttle lever at carb to wide open and see if you still have more travel that did not come with the floored peddle. Also note that it needs to be closing completely when no peddle.
First adjustment would be the limit switch peddle travel to click.
See the box right down behind the key area and choke inside under the seat. Take nut off and lift cover to see limit switch and adjustable nuts to move contact point of peddle. With key on, measure how far the peddle has to go down to hear the click ( limit switch engaged) you should have about 1/2" travel to get it.
Key off, go to the setting of the govenor. Turn thumb nut in to tighen up spring a good amount. Now check the linkage that goes to the carb. Playing with the peddle to see that the throttle plate does not open untill the click is heard. Throttle plate must close all the way with peddle up and open all the way with peddle to the metal. Time and playing will get it.