lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric golf carts > Star and Fairplay

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 01-31-2019, 10:53 PM   #1
zonecarter
Not Yet Wild

Default Gifted Zone cart damaged while towing

Hi all, newbie here looking for some guidance before I reach out to some local cart repair shops. I pretty much inherited this 6 passenger Chinese cart (not sure of the year but it actually looks great--probably 2010) after a buddy regretfully attempted to tow it in himself for a minor repair. He wasn't aware of the tow/run switch and so a small fire began in the back of the cart/motor area.

I'm assuming the motor is shot, but I'm hopeful I can still get this thing up and running for relatively cheap seeing as how everything else looks great. Batteries are less than 1.5 years old (radio and all lights work perfectly). Controller (Curtis 1268-5403) appears to be fine but I have no clue. The motor's label says D-C Motor, model XQ-3.8, 48v. I know the cart had a solenoid replaced less than two months ago, but other than that everything is a mystery.

I'm attaching some pictures of the damage where hopefully someone may be able to tell what actually caught fire and if it's worth having the motor rebuilt, or just any advice on where to go from here. I've read through every post about Zone carts and realize they're not at all desirable, but I'm hopeful to get it running and then maybe even looking into trading it for a 4 passenger gas cart or something more reliable. Thanks, and I appreciate any and all input!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_7532.jpg (164.8 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_7512.jpg (194.0 KB, 0 views)
zonecarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 02-01-2019, 08:57 AM   #2
BBBHC
Gone Wild

Club Car

Default Re: Gifted Zone cart damaged while towing