lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car > Lithium Club Car

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 08-22-2020, 04:44 PM   #1
simicrintz
Gone Wild

Club Car

Default Chevy Volt Lithium

I usually post in the regular CC section, but last night I made a decision that also jumps me into here-I went ahead and ordered some new Lithium Ion Chevy Volt 48vdc 2kwh 50ah batteries (big thanks to Left Coast Kiteboarding!!).

While I am not quite yet 100% sure how all this works, I am sure that I can learn and appreciate any input. I am a contractor and am pretty handy, but electrical is my weakest link.

One question that I have is BMS-I am hearing that is is required and I am hearing that it is suggested. The guy I bought the batteries from has the correct BMS unit for a couple hundred bucks; am I foolish not to get it?

Thanks guys and gals! I recognize some of your names from the regular CC forum and look forward to "meeting" more of you here!
simicrintz is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 08-25-2020, 06:29 PM   #2
WalterM6
Gone Wild

Club Car

Default Re: Chevy Volt Lithium

A BMS is required. It will work w/o one but you would be foolish to do so.
WalterM6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2020, 08:05 PM   #3
ACCLR8N
Getting Wild

Club Car

Sergio has a thread detailing how to use an inexpensive BMS to balance the batteries during charging and shut things down if something goes wrong without having to flow the cart amperage through it. Unfortunately Sergio's detailed recipe is for the Nissan battery modules.

You need to understand how many amps the BMS your supplier is selling can flow to decide if it is a value.
ACCLR8N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2020, 10:25 AM   #4
simicrintz
Gone Wild

Club Car