lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 10-26-2010, 12:19 AM   #1
felber61
Not Yet Wild

E-Z-GO

Default Float Needle problem

Alright so I'm not good with technical terms but the needle that is pushed up by the float and then is let down by gravity when the float drops seems to be sticking up in my '87 EZGO carb. I've had the carb off several times and I know that it is as clean as possible. My question is: is it possible to replace this or would I just be better off replacing the whole carb? The cart just runs out of gas due to this and if I use something to tap or jiggle the carb it will take back off with enough convincing. I just dont want to ensue the rath of my wife if it acts up on her and I'm not around. Its not really the lightest thing to push back.
felber61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 10-26-2010, 06:56 AM   #2
IDIeselman
Getting Wild

E-Z-GO

Default Re: Float Needle problem

You may have the needle clean but what about the seat in the carb? You may have to remove the carb and clean it well with compressed air and carb cleaner. Some have went so far as to boil them for 30 minutes or so to get them clean. Good luck!
IDIeselman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 07:27 AM   #3
Dave Box
Respect the Cart

E-Z-GO

I vote to buy a new carburetor. It's 23 years old and it's going to be worn. I messed with mine forever and when I changed it the cart ran like a sewing machine. What do you value your time at? $25 per hour? So save four hours and buy the new carb and you break even. What is more you reduce the risk of your wife cutting you off.
Dave Box is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 08:00 AM   #4
Freezeman
Not Yet Wild