lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 12-27-2010, 11:30 AM   #1
HubrisHCC
Not Yet Wild

E-Z-GO

Default Shorter belt. Now a hesitation?

Hey guys this is my first time using a forum of any type so my apologies if I am in the wrong area. I have an 84 ezgo 2stroke that I recently picked up. This is my first cart and I have been teaching myself as I go on restoring this thing. I read that swaping out for a shorter belt could improve performance. So I did and now once it picks up speed it just dies out. I happened to look at the clutches while this was happening and noticed that the driven clutch (the one on the diff) seems to open suddenly when the power is lost. Do I need a new/different spring/clutch to run this set up. Or could there just be something simple I'm not aware of.
HubrisHCC is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 12-27-2010, 12:58 PM   #2
ez go go
Doin' the Wild Thang

E-Z-GO

Default Re: Shorter belt. Now a hesitation?

It sounds like the gov. is engaging. Try to adjust it and see if the problem goes away. A shorter belt increases low end rpm and the gov. may need adjustment to compensate for the lower gear ratio so the clutches can operate properly. Not real good on these two smokers but its my best guess.
ez go go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 12:59 PM   #3
DOOmsman
Gone Wild

Yamaha

Does the secondary"driven" open and
then the clutches shift into a much higher
ratio and bog the engine down below its power band?
DOOmsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 01:24 PM   #4
HubrisHCC
Not Yet Wild

E-Z-GO