lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 07-19-2019, 05:09 PM   #1
Grizzlybare
Not Yet Wild

Default Removal of speed sensor 2005 ezgo PDS

I’m a newbie, but have determined from this forum that the speed sensor on my 2005 Ezgo PDS cart is either bad or needs cleaning. Suddenly the speed went to half. My check of the code tells me it’s the sensor. My dilemma is the sensor has no apparent fixtures that hold it to the motor, no clip or anything. I haven’t removed the rear body, but am able to view the sensor from the side above the rear driver’s wheel. I have taken a photo, but not familiar with how to post it.

I think I’ve pretty well described it without the benefit of the photo. Can anyone advise how this detaches from the motor? And if it’s likely removed and replaced without removal of the body? Thanks ahead!
Grizzlybare is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 07-19-2019, 05:14 PM   #2
kgsc
Gone Wild

Mixed Breed

Default Re: Removal of speed sensor 2005 ezgo PDS

First you need a good set of snap ring pliers. Take the left rear tire off and you should be able to see the sensor on the end of the motor. Squeeze the ring smaller and pull it out. Sensor should slide out.
kgsc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 05:18 PM   #3
JohnnieB
Techno-Nerd

E-Z-GO

This might help.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Speed sensor - exploded view.JPG (28.8 KB, 0 views)
JohnnieB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 06:05 PM   #4
Grizzlybare
Not Yet Wild

I did find a circlip and was able to remove the sensor. It was clean against the intact clean magnet. The screw that holds the magnet is still shiny and new. When I got it back together the cart took off at high speed for 10’ then dropped back to low speed.