lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 08-01-2016, 06:56 PM   #1
Dmaxowner
Not Yet Wild
Yamaha

Default New owner G1 build up

So I am new to this whole cart world. I've been working for Chevy for the past 10 years.
Well I acquired a G1 cart. It has no engine. Just what looks to me like a rear diff. I have been looking around and I guess there is supposed to be a clutch like a CVT on the rear end. I was gonna weld a sprocket to it and call it good and go direct drive with it. Until a buddy told me I can't do that I will blow it up.
So I have looked around and have found that I can replace the clutch. But do I have to use a G1 clutch assembly? Can I use a G2 assembly? The other thing is. I am not putting in another Yamaha engine. I will be installing a 380cc 2 stroke Rotax engine from a snow mobil. Then is it smart for me to use this CVT style clutch. The snow mobil runs a sprocket and a clutch on the engine.

So any info or input will help a lot.
Dmaxowner is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 08-02-2016, 07:07 PM   #2
Dmaxowner
Not Yet Wild
Yamaha

Default Re: New owner G1 build up

So can someone tell me the difference between the G1 and G2? I know that the G1 was a 2 stroke and G2 was a 4 stroke. But chassis wise etc?
Old 08-02-2016, 07:29 PM   #3
raydhd
VC 460 CLONE GONE WILD

Yamaha

No reverse on the G1. 2 strokers spin backwards for reverse.
raydhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2016, 11:09 PM   #4
cgtech
Over This Interview Is...

Yamaha