lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 11-27-2018, 09:58 PM   #1
Clubcarguy34
Not Yet Wild

Default Extending driving distance

Hi guys, new guy here, just purchased a 2006 club car precedence.
I’ve got a lot of experience with deep cycle batteries, solar, and inverters.

So.. I’ve had this generator it is basically a Honda eu3000 modified to output 36vdc or 48vdc with a 1% voltage regulation.

My thought here is to mount the generator on the back of the cart, and wire it directly to battery pack - and battery pack +

The generator will output a consistent 3000 watts, and can surge to 3500 watts.
It even has eco mode.

From what I’ve been reading here is after take off, and cart hits it’s max speed, it is about an 80 amp load. My cart is stock with the Curtis 250 amp controller and adc motor.

If my thinking is correct, I should be able to connect this up and basically be able to go very long distances.

The generator is an alphagen dcx3000 and was built for the telecom industry for Verizon and T-Mobile to supply power to their battery banks during power outages.

So what do you guys think? I won’t be able to set it all up and test it until next year around April.
Clubcarguy34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 11-28-2018, 05:49 AM   #2
mrgolf
Old Sky Soldier

Club Car

Default Re: Extending driving distance

How big is it, where would you mount it. Pictures?
mrgolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2018, 07:32 AM   #3
Sergio
Gone Wild

Club Car

A generator with 48v output may help with voltage drop during acceleration (or trigger its internal protection) but it will not charge the batteries as you will need at least 52v.

You also need to make sure the generator has some kind of reverse current protection.