lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 04-04-2021, 01:05 PM   #1
afdude08
Not Yet Wild
E-Z-GO

Default EZGO TXT Slows when accelerating

Newbie here. I have a Model E299, 40 volt (2-8volt, 4-6volt) EZGO Txt golf cart with brand new batteries (US Battery) that I got from a guy that sells golf carts for a living. This golf cart has a lift kit with 18" tires. When I press the gas to the floor on the highway, it will fly for about 2 minutes. Then it will slowly start slowing down until it creeps. I replaced my old set of 36 volt batteries because I thought that the batteries were causing this issue. Now I know that was not the case because I am still having this exact problem. I have no idea where to begin testing this golf cart to fix this speed error. Any help in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.
afdude08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 04-04-2021, 01:13 PM   #2
kgsc
Gone Wild

Mixed Breed

Default Re: EZGO TXT Slows when accelerating

Depends on the controller but it is probably overheating at 40 volts if it was made for 36. This a series or does it have a run/tow switch?
kgsc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2021, 01:15 PM   #3
afdude08
Not Yet Wild
E-Z-GO

it has a run-tow switch. I forgot to add that once the golf cart finally stops, I can turn off the key on the golf cart, wait a little while and turn it back on and it will run fine for a little while and do the same thing again. It was doing this exact same thing when i had 36 volt batteries installed.
Old 04-04-2021, 01:42 PM   #4
kgsc
Gone Wild

Mixed Breed

Still sounds like thermal shutdown. Check and see if the motor or controller is getting hot.
Old 04-04-2021, 09:46 PM   #5
afdude08
Not Yet Wild
E-Z-GO