lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 06-19-2015, 12:09 AM   #1
sooner310
Not Yet Wild

Default 1987 EZGO Marathon motor studs broke

I am a newbie needing a little help. I bought 1987 EZGO PC4x for great cheap price of $300. Added some new batteries and it started running but not as fast as expected. I have good voltage across batteries (replaced all cables with 4 gauge), solenoid, resistor coils. After cleaning the wire posts, I noticed it was moving a bit faster. The only posts not cleaned were the ones on the motor itself. I tried to remove the rusted bolt(two cables I had not replaced) and that is when the stud/bolt started turning freely. I knew it was bad when the cart would not move. Pulled the motor to find the connectors were broke from the studs. My question is should I have these re-welded or look for a new motor? If I get a new motor, can someone point me to the correct motor? I would like to upgrade to a lift kit and bigger tires with time. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.
sooner310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 06-19-2015, 04:16 AM   #2
cgtech
Over This Interview Is...

Yamaha

Default Re: 1987 EZGO Marathon motor studs broke

Sounds like you may have caused expensive damage (twisted-off the wires inside the motor, not fixed with a "solder-it-up job"). Consider taking the motor to a "starter/generator/alternator" rebuild shop. They may be able to fix it for less than a new motor. If you have the "resistor coil" motor controller setup i think you may have, the stock system is not a great setup for a "beefed-up" motor without significant upgrades.
cgtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 10:23 AM   #3
sooner310
Not Yet Wild