lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 09-17-2021, 07:04 PM   #1
CartCartCart
Not Yet Wild

Default 1986 Club Car Rebuild Questions

Hello everyone,

this is my first post but I've been lurking for a bit. I just bought a 1986 Club Car DS that I will be rebuilding to a modern machine. I have never done anything with a cart before, so I have a few questions that I was hoping someone could answer.

1. Can the front seats from the later years (plastic arm handles and one piece seat back) be swapped onto my cart? I have heard they could here, then that there were modifications needed to the handles. I am still confused

2. I am currently stripping it down to the frame and want to know the consensus on painting the frame. I have read to neutralize the battery box and rivet alum angle to corroded parts, so I will be doing that, but some here are also using POR-15 and the like on the frame. Is this necessary or recommended as its aluminum?

3. Any rookie mistakes to look out for?

Looks like a knowledgeable and active forum, looking forward to posting progress!

C3
CartCartCart is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 09-17-2021, 07:55 PM   #2
Mooncarter
Gone Insane

Club Car

Default Re: 1986 Club Car Rebuild Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by CartCartCart View Post
Hello everyone,

this is my first post but I've been lurking for a bit. I just bought a 1986 Club Car DS that I will be rebuilding to a modern machine. I have never done anything with a cart before, so I have a few questions that I was hoping someone could answer.