lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 05-18-2010, 03:25 PM   #1
interstate
Gone Wild

Default lets talk chargers

Hi everyone,

I am new to golf carts and just picked up a club car ds electric. I will be buying new batteries and cables today. The restoration is going well.

I don't have a charger yet.

I come from other hobbies that use deep cycle lead acid, or lithium ion, lithium phosphate, nicad, nickle metal.... all using modern chargers that are small, lightweight. Some are even user configurable via a compute and software updates.

I have been told that solid state chargers are a no-no with golf cart batteries. I am learning that dedicated Cart chargers use transormers and this is best.

Why not buy a less expensive on board 36v fully automatic marine charger for 40% of the cost of a name brand cart charger?

Can you explain to me why other chargers are inferior ?

Will you explain why these
chargers for golf carts using 50 year old technology is so dreadfully expensive?

Thanks in advance for you input.
interstate is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 06-08-2010, 08:31 AM   #2
phnguyk
Getting Wild

Default Re: lets talk chargers

Any outcome, been trying to find out myself.
phnguyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 08:42 AM   #3
scottyb
Happy Carting

E-Z-GO

I do not have the answer to your questions. Just the observation that the modern chargers put out considerably less amperage. Perhaps it is not enough to 'knock the sulfates off of the plates'??? .... I too will be waiting for the answers
scottyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 11:20 AM   #4
dougmcp
Gone Wild

Quote:
Originally Posted by interstate View Post