lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 10-26-2012, 07:07 AM   #1
Rickochet
Card Carrying Old Fart

E-Z-GO

Default Battery Charger/ Winter Storage Question

I use an EZGO QE charger on my '07 PDS. I will be bringing it home soon for winter storage. Not wanting to burn my house down, I am hesitant to leave the charger plugged in all of the time if that is a valid concern. My cart charges to 38.2 and after sitting 4 weeks only discharges to 38.1 so I plan to charge it about once per month and check water levels then unplug the charger. Will leaving the plug in the cart socket do anything?

This is my first year with the cart. If anyone has any other comments that might help fire away.

Rick
Rickochet is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 10-26-2012, 10:25 AM   #2
blewis46580
Not Yet Wild

Default Re: Battery Charger/ Winter Storage Question

Leaving it plugged in should not hurt the cart (as many people do). The QE chargers are NOT a maintain charger, meaning it will not kick on by its self when needed for a charge. I always recommend to my customers to unplug, and plug back in once a month to keep electrolite levels up in the batteries. Also, with your PDS vehicle, make sure you have the TOW switch flipped to tow when storing for long periods of time. Hope this helps.
blewis46580 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 12:12 PM   #3
sprocket
Not Yet Wild
E-Z-GO

I am new to electric also, would it hurt to charge it once a week during winter storage? Thanks.
sprocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 12:16 PM   #4
JohnnieB
Techno-Nerd

E-Z-GO