lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 08-31-2022, 01:14 AM   #1
GreaseMunkey
Not Yet Wild

Default Pre-MCI Spark Issues

Well guys, I’ve hit that point in my project…

I’m returning a pre-MCI cart and it ran fine until I got it shined up and got the brakes working. I took the control panel off to clean up the wiring and remove the reverse buzzer that was partially bypassed and didn’t work. Now for some reason it won’t fire and my head has been spinning for 2 weeks now. I’ve googled and scoured the forum for possible solutions and still can’t definitively figure out where my problem lies. It’s killing me that such a simple electrical system has me this stumped, I’m a controls engineer by trade and work on WAY more complex systems with nowhere near this much trouble.. When I first try to crank the engine I get one spark and that’s all, nothing if I keep turning it over.

Here is what I’ve checked so far.

Grounds, grounds, grounds… (all of them MULTIPLE times)
Pulser - 20-23 ohms
Pulser signal - 0.23-.31 VAC while cranking
Coil - 3.6 ohms (primary); 16.4k ohms (secondary at plug wires)
Coil signal - 11-13v on “+” and identical on “-“ while cranking
Ignitor - nothing shorted to ground[/INDENT]
The two potential issues that I have stuck in my head are:

1.) If I put a test light across the primary coils it lights and stays lit, it’s not pulsing. It’s mimicking the single spark that I’m getting.

2.) The power wire going to the starter has continuity back to ground. (I couldn’t find anyone on here, google, or YouTube checking continuity with A2 and F1 jumpered together. I took the jumper off and A2 is the post that has continuity to ground (A1) and best I can tell it’s supposed to have continuity to A1.