lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 01-26-2011, 04:36 PM   #1
firemedic898
Not Yet Wild
E-Z-GO

Default Combine cables (#4 & #6 gauge) for even better results????

Hey guys. Ok……This maybe a VERY stupid question to some of the experts but I am learning and in NO WAY an electrician. I am a firefighter and I am thinking in ways of friction loss (FL). We calculate FL in the fire hose due to the extreme pressures and distances we may have to pump. The fire hose (of course) carries water and meets different levels of resistance depending on the size of the hose and how many there are……..

I was told that the electrical wires work the same way. The more power/current demand the motor/controller are using, the more power/current there is flowing through the electrical wires. That is why larger electrical wire upgrades are needed, to efficiently supply the power demand without overheating.

Now…….I am upgrading to a #4 gauge wire kit for my cart. My question is…….Can I leave the #6 gauge wires on, along WITH the #4 gauge wires, and it not only be safe, but even more efficient???????? In my head it sounds like a good plan but I have not found any info on it. I know the power will follow the path of least resistance, which is the #4 gauge, but some may also flow through the #6 gauge. A bucket of water that has a 3” hole and a 1” hole will still have water come out both, more water obviously out the 3”.

I know this was a long post but any advice/experience will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!!!
firemedic898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 01-26-2011, 04:51 PM   #2
dougmcp
Gone Wild

Default Re: Combine cables (#4 & #6 gauge) for even better results????