lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 05-14-2013, 10:52 PM   #1
Daved
Not Yet Wild
E-Z-GO

Default 2000 ezgo txt standard (pds) forward only

Hi guys, I am very new to this. I picked up this cart on sunday. its a 2000 txt standard (pds) 36v. The FnR switch is by my right knee. With the switch in forward the cart moves forward, with the switch in reverse the beep sounds and the cart moves forward also. I tried the diagnostic mode and it just tells me pack voltage low. Is this the sign of a bad controller? I have the run/tow toggle on the controller cover. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks--Dave
Daved is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 05-15-2013, 07:25 AM   #2
JohnnieB
Techno-Nerd

E-Z-GO

Default Re: 2000 ezgo txt standard (pds) forward only

Welcome to BGW!

Sounds like you've got one of the rare PDS carts made in early 2000 with the F/R by the knee instead of a rocker switch on the dash.
It still works the same, just the switch is different.

Basically, the PDS is a "Fly-by-Wire" system and the controller does everything. The external switches just tell the controller what to do.

Since the reverse beeper sound when lever is put in R, the controller is being told to send current through the field windings in the opposite direction from forward, but it isn't doing it, so the controller may be bad. However, there is the possibility it may not be operating properly because the battery voltage is low.

What is the battery pack voltage?
A fully charged 36V battery pack will be 38.2V and fully charged 6V batteries will be 6.37V.

Since you are new to carts, a quick overview.
The battery pack is the heart of the system.
Lead-acid deep-cycle wet-cell batteries have no memory.