lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Yamaha
Electric Yamaha Electric Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 03-11-2020, 04:27 PM   #1
jamoore
Gone Wild
Club Car

Default More Help Please

Little background here: I am pretty new to carts and bought several former maintenance carts from a local apartment complex. 3 were Yamahas and 1 Ez-Go. Planning to keep the Ez-Go and sell the Yamahas. In fact, I already refurbed one Yamaha and sold it.

I now have 2-2006 Yamaha 48 volt carts. One runs, the other does not. I know the controller is bad but there is something else wrong. I have the luxury of being able to swap parts from the running one to try and diagnose the non-running cart. Here is what I get when I put the good controller on the bad cart. When I flip from tow to run I get 2 clicks after about 2 seconds. When I switch the key to ON I get an instant click and then another click after 2 seconds. If I push the pedal, I get another click then after a couple seconds I get another click. No movement whatsoever or other sounds.

I know this non-running cart has had some stuff replaced. The fuse holder is new and it had a 30 amp fuse stuck in it. I put a 3 amp back in it. The throttle position sensor (forgive me if that is not the correct term) looks to have been replaced and the connector for it has been has been spliced into the harness. Couple other spots look like the harness was messed with but I don't see any obvious issues. The solenoid also looks to have been replaced as does the tow/run switch.

Aside from swapping the controller, I swapped out the throttle position sensor, the F/R switch and the solenoid. I did these individually then tested the cart with negative results. I also did a resistance test on the motor and it was right within the ranges I saw on other posts here.