lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 05-28-2020, 11:11 PM   #1
Familys88ezgo
Not Yet Wild
E-Z-GO

Exclamation 88 Marathon Not Running

I’m a new to the golf cart/ buggy world. I recently acquired my grandparents old golf cart, that had been sitting in my sisters barn for the past 4-5 years. I am not a mechanic by any means, but can do some minor things, so please be patient with my ignorance.

I purchased a new battery and installed it. Then put in a new spark plug, changed the fuel filter, and drained the old tank and blew out the fuel lines and blew out the carburetor. When I push the gas it does nothing, but if I push the gas easy it turns over and the big clutch spins, but the cart goes nowhere. It does this if it’s in forward or reverse. Any help would be greatly appreciated, I really want to get this cart going so my kids can drive it like I use to do.
Familys88ezgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 05-29-2020, 07:22 AM   #2
cart around
Test before replacing

E-Z-GO

Default Re: 88 Marathon Not Running

I'm short on time, so here is a manual to get you started.

Plan on buying some carb cleaner. Blowing them out does nothing.
Remove the fuel line from the carb, and crank it over. You should see a healthy spurt of gas in pulses.

Easing into the pedal does nothing. The switch is either open, or closed there is no in between. Plan on cleaning electrical connections.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 1988 EZGO Marathon Owner's Manual.pdf (6.82 MB, 0 views)
cart around is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2020, 11:55 PM   #3
Familys88ezgo
Not Yet Wild
E-Z-GO

Post Re: 88 Marathon Not Running

Thank you for the manual Cart Around.