lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 07-15-2010, 01:45 PM   #1
SalinasValleyRider
Not Yet Wild

Default 1986 EZ Go Gas Questions Please help

Picked this bad boy up in no run condition, got a new batterey did a quick tune up and got it running, got it to go around the block 3-4 times shut it off and it would not start again. I checked the batterey voltage and it was under 11 volts.

so my questions-

Do these carts have charging systems?

What kind of system if any do they have?

Is the starter motor supposed to continuously run while the cart it running?

Im new to carts, but it seems odd to me that the starter motor would keep running while your driving and i think this may be the cause of the batterey discharging so quickly...any help is appreciated.

SalinasValleyRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 07-15-2010, 02:00 PM   #2
BigRed77
Getting Wild

E-Z-GO

Default Re: 1986 EZ Go Gas Questions Please help

what do you mean by the starter keeps running?

I believe the starter should keep turning, but after the engine starts running the starter stops drawing power and begins to generate power re-charging the battery.
BigRed77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2010, 02:14 PM   #3
SalinasValleyRider
Not Yet Wild

seems to me that the starter keeps cranking like its trying to keep starting the car. i know it keeps spinning but i think its still drawing power. what would be the easiest way to test the starter to see if its working properly?
Old 07-15-2010, 02:21 PM   #4
BigRed77
Getting Wild

E-Z-GO

I would (read this may not be the best way, but its what I would probably figure out to do)
first get the rear wheels off the ground on good solid jack stands.