lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 05-11-2008, 06:48 PM   #1
D-Money24
Not Yet Wild

Default EZGO PDS 48V upgrade questions.

Frst, let me say that I'm really glad i found this site, as I'm new to the cart world and have found this site very helpful.

I currently have a 36V, 2005 EXGO PDS cart w/ a 4" lift an 22" tires. I recently installed a programable Alltrax 400 DCX controller & 4 gauge wiring. I was thinking about upgrading to 48V. I will be using this cart for hunting in moderate terain and was wanting more torque. Questions?

1.Other than getting a HD solenoid is ther anything else I need to do?

2. Can I use 6 8V bat as opposed to 8 6Volt Bat?

3. Will this hurt the stock motor?

4. How much more torque/speed should I gain?

5. Will I increase runniing time on a charge?

6. Anything else I should know?

Also, are there any tricks to getting longer running time on a charge? Thanks in advance for all the help on the site.
D-Money24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 05-11-2008, 07:40 PM   #2
gornoman
Stay thirsty my friends!

Mixed Breed

Default Re: EZGO PDS 48V upgrade questions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Money24 View Post

1.Other than getting a HD solenoid is ther anything else I need to do?
You will need a way to charge a 48v pack.

Quote:
2. Can I use 6 8V bat as opposed to 8 6Volt Bat?
Yes, but either method will work.

Quote:
3. Will this hurt the stock motor?
No, the stock motor will be fine on 48v.

Quote:
4. How much more torque/speed should I gain?
About 33% on each

Quote:
5. Will I increase runniing time on a charge?
If you go with 8-6v batteries your range will increase nicely. Using 6-8v batteries your range should be about the same as now.

Quote:
6. Anything else I should know?