lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 09-14-2011, 03:18 PM   #1
sawyer
Not Yet Wild
Club Car

Default "Winterizing" 2001 CC DS

This is my first year with a buggy, (a 2001 DS with original batteries), at our seasonal place, and I'm wondering what my best steps are for over-wintering. I don't have an indoor storage site and up here in Canada it can get cccccold. What are the best steps to take?

Charge up and detach the battery leads?
Leave the charger plugged in all winter?

Thanks
sawyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 09-14-2011, 05:05 PM   #2
TahoeDawgZ71
revolutiongolfcars.com

Club Car

Default Re: "Winterizing" 2001 CC DS

Winterizing! lol... It's 94 degrees outside! But I'm in Georgia.

Anyways, for a 48 Volt system just leave it plugged in and flip it into the TOW position if it's a Regen car. If it's a series car, you won't have a TOW switch and don't need to worry about that. Just plug it in and make sure the batteries have plenty of water in them. Although, you may want to try and take any precautions you can to keep the batteries from freezing. A good battery shouldn't freeze if the electrolyte levels are up, but an old worn out battery with a lot of water in it will freeze hard as a rock.
TahoeDawgZ71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 05:50 PM   #3
erict
Gone Wild

Club Car

Quote:
Originally Posted by TahoeDawgZ71 View Post