lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 11-17-2011, 02:11 PM   #1
tsward28
Not Yet Wild

Default I need help deciding on fixing or upgrading cart.

I just received a free cart from a family member who let three unqualified people try and fix her cart. The cart is an early 2000's PDS cart. I now one of them hooked up wires backwords and probably cooked the controller. There are also signs that someone tried to wire directly to the motor. I am new to carts but understand that these do gooders have probably done more damage to the cart thn good. On top of that, the cart has sat for the last two years and I'm guessing the batteries will be weak if not bad. I am taking it to a qualified person to have the damage assessed this weekend.

My question is, at what point should I stop spending money to have these items replaced/fixed and just convert to a 48 volt system? When converting? will I be replacing all of these past anyway?

Any wisdome will be appreciated.

Thanks,
tsward28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 11-17-2011, 07:07 PM   #2
Legendary Golf Carts
Gone Wild

Default Re: I need help deciding on fixing or upgrading cart.

Can you post pictures? If the body/frame is in good shape it would cost less to do a 48 volt conversion and be haulin @$$ then to buy a boggo off-lease cart. To do a conversion you need 48 volt battery pack and charger (dealer) New cables, solenoid, and controller (scotty b, cartsunlimited.net) and a new motor (plum quick, plumquick.com)
Legendary Golf Carts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 07:09 PM   #3
Legendary Golf Carts
Gone Wild