lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 08-19-2014, 07:26 PM   #1
rabar4
Getting Wild

E-Z-GO

Default 1989 gas ezgo, hard to start

I am new to hear as well as the golf cart world. Looking for some advice / direction...
I just picked up a 1989 Ezgo. Starts real hard, by this I mean takes a very long time or cranking to get it to fire. Once it has a ran for a min or so it starts much easier. let it sit for 20 min or so and its hard to start again. I have completed a compression test and it read around 100 lbs cold. added motor oil to cylinder and reading did not change. Checked compression again after running for about 5 min and reading was about 95 lbs. Another note: it looks as though this cart has ran very hot in the past as there is a sheet of metal screwed to under side of seat and the gas tank as well as the gas cap has signs of melting. I have also disconnected the oil injection as I do not trust it and mixed the gas myself (50:1) ? Thanks in advance for the help and sorry for the long winded post :)
rabar4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 08-19-2014, 08:49 PM   #2
Dave Box
Respect the Cart

E-Z-GO

Default Re: 1989 gas ezgo, hard to start

50:1 is dreadfully rich and might be oiling the plug causing the hard start. The correct ratio is 128:1 ( 1 ounce of oil to 1 gallon of gas). Try cleaning the plug and running the correct ratio. It might be as easy as that.

Dave
Dave Box is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 08:55 PM   #3
rabar4
Getting Wild

E-Z-GO

thank, was doing some reading and read exactly what you have stated for the mixture. Will try that tomorrow. Thanks again for the reply.... Could that also be the reason it is running to "hot"?
Old 08-20-2014, 06:49 AM   #4
Dave Box
Respect the Cart

E-Z-GO