lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 07-02-2011, 02:31 PM   #1
reevesjo
Not Yet Wild
Club Car

Default Fuel pump..acts like it is running out of gas

First off: newbie here. Says I can't use PM System until 3 posts. I can't find what PM System is??

Now to the problem. Neighbor's golf cart. After he drives it a mile or two it surges, dies; surges, dies; a few times, then dies completely until it cools off for awhile. He replaced his fuel pump with a "borrowed" one from a dealer until a new one can be delivered on Tuesday 7/5/2011. I tried to help...
1. drained all gas and replaced with gasahol-free. no fix
2. even tried to by-pass fuel pump with a "gravity flow" supply of gas. no fix..is "some pressure" required to open the carb float??
3. checked spark. a little weak but seems to be there right after one of these situations. Will try a dynamic spark tester when I can get one.

Fuel filter doesn't really have much gas in it. I tilted it down a little so it would always go down hill, instead of up hill. I supplied the pulse by blowing, but results were no different. I haven't checked the compression yet.

Running out of ideas....any suggestions besides replacing the magneto?
Neighbor Joe
reevesjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 07-02-2011, 02:35 PM   #2
reevesjo
Not Yet Wild
Club Car

Default Re: Fuel pump..acts like it is running out of gas

I see the I.D. got stuck below the post. It is a 1997 Yamaha gas, G16.
Joe
Old 07-09-2011, 01:09 PM   #3
reevesjo
Not Yet Wild
Club Car

FIXED. Turned out to be a bad TCI unit (magneto). Every symptom of running out of gas, but it was a short in the magneto that showed up with heat. After it cooled off, it was fine "for awhile".